Mudeford

Property reviews
 

Gatehouse

Tourism Awards

If you want to see this lovely accommodation online you can view it using this ONLINE VIDEO TOUR

01 January 2032


Lovely accommodation and we had 5 lovely days despite the weather.

06 April 2024


5/5 - Super location! Property was very clean, comfortable and well maintained. In an ideal position for beach walks. With facilities at Avon Beach we didn't need to use the car. A very relaxing stay. A super property.

02 April 2024


5 Star Review: Best self catering ever. Fantastic house, great location, dog friendly. Nicest property we’ve stayed in, like a film set. Lovely area with great restaurants and pubs and dog walking. Can’t recommend enough.

24 March 2024


5 star review - This was a great little find! Just off the beach at Mudeford but set in a gated community. Great walks straight from the door as well as a great restaurant and cafes. We were out of season and so were allowed to take our dogs on all the beaches, they had a ball and sand made a welcome change from muddy walks! The house is beautiful presented and very well equipped and the little details like the welcome gifts for us and the dogs, were very thoughtful. This is definitely somewhere we’d like to come back to as we had a very comfortable few days. The only thing we would’ve liked, but this really is a VERY SMALL thing, is a coffee machine but this is purely personal preference. Thank you ??

18 March 2024


5 Star Review - Heaven by the sea. We stayed at The Gatehouse for 4 nights in March and couldn’t have been happier with the accommodation and location, days out on the beach walking miles in the sunshine and quiet cosy evenings in the turret room watching the sun set over the sea and eating far too much ! All appliances were state of the art and we were jealous over the oven ! Everything was provided for us and the owners definitely took immense pride in their hosting, we have had a few trips like this over the last few years and this one was by far the most enjoyable and luxurious !!

06 March 2024


5 star review - We had a fantastic time in Mudeford. The house was beautifully furnished and spotless. It had everything we needed and a lovely welcome pack too. Everything we needed for a family of 4 and large dog. Great location so we could ditch the car for a few days and enjoy the beach and noisy Lobster. Swimming at Avon beach was great. “Louise” was so helpful when we left something at the house. Thank you! We’d certainly recommend The Royals and will hopefully return.

13 February 2024


5 star review - The Gatehouse is a stunning property less than a hundred metres from Avon Beach. It is immaculate inside, with high quality fittings, furnishings, bathrooms and kitchen. Communication with Louise was very good. The view from the upstairs lounge of the sea is fantastic. We had a wonderful stay over the New Year with our 2 dogs. I would highly recommend staying here.

03 January 2024


Awesome Property in a great location - 5/5 - We loved our stay at the Gatehouse from the minute we arrived to the minute we left we had an awesome time, property was spotless, quirky and everything we needed for our break. Nice secure garden for the four legged friends, TBH I am amazed and grateful that such a fabulous property allows dogs. Lovely beach less than a minutes walk which you can see from the lounge and a great restaurant just around the corner The Noisy Lobster what more could you want. Thank you Louise, we would definitely return.

05 December 2023


5 star review - super luxury in a perfect location

15 November 2023


5 star review - Loved our stay

31 October 2023


5 star review - We had a wonderful stay at the Gatehouse. It really was such a beautiful place to stay and the surrounding areas were stunning. We had great communication throughout from both the host and the agents and they were very accommodating to our party. The space itself was amazing, incredibly clean and had a lovely homely feeling. We loved the little touches such as wine and juice in the fridge for our arrival and even a welcome pack for our furry friend. We hope to return again soon.

25 October 2023


Fantastic review - Our 9 night stay at the Gatehouse was overall the best in all respects, but especially the prime quality and comfort of the accommodation plus its exquisite location so close to the charm and attractions of the Mudeford seafront. Our booking arrangements were handled seamlessly by the agent. Additionally we were also very well served with helpful hints courtesy of the property owners which ensured that our stay went off without any hitches both accommodation wise as well as having some useful guidance provided on highlighting places to visit and where to eat during our stay.

20 October 2023


5 star review - Great Villa in a secluded gated area, literally 50yds from the sea front. plenty of cafes and restaurants within walking distance and gorgeous beaches.

29 September 2023


5 star review - An amazing property in a fantastic location. The photos don’t do the place justice. It was a lot bigger than expected. The master bedroom is huge and beds very comfortable. All furnishings were high quality and it was well kitted out with everything you would need. The upstairs lounge is fantastic with views of the sea. There are plenty of lovely walks from the property and a short drive to Hengistbury head and Lymington are recommended. The property is very dog friendly. Would highly recommend and we will definitley be back again.

25 September 2023


5/5 - Amazing house and location. This property is truly stunning. The place is spotless and very welcoming for dog owners with their own welcome pack. It is extremely well equipped. Maida and the team do a fantastic job. It is literally 1 minute from the beach . Would definitely go back.

15 September 2023


5 star review - Stunning property with a sea view. Just yards from a dog friendly beach. Plenty of room for all the family and very well equipped with lots of space. Beautifully decorated and welcoming house to relax and unwind in. All our booking and correspondence was made incredibly easy and fuss free which started our break perfectly. Would definitely recommend and will be rebooking again.

07 September 2023


5* - This holiday home is an absolute gem. It’s literally a stones throw from the beach and has everything you need for an amazing stay. The owners couldn’t have been more helpful and they are extremely dog friendly. We had a lovely holiday and would recommend the local curry house Masala who deliver and great fish and chips from the Lobster Hatch.

27 August 2023


5* Fantastic property in the most fabulous location! Can't fault any part of our stay.....excellent & friendly communication from the owner & management company, easy check in, exceptionally clean house with absolutely everything you need for your stay (& thoughtful welcome supplies), comfy beds, parking right outside the front door, wonderful views from the lounge...to name just a few things! The location also sets this apart from other properties....just steps away from a sandy beach and restaurants. If you don't want to use the car for a few days, you really don't need to. But if you do need supplies, there's shops and a big Sainsburys just minutes away. Also easy to get to Sandbanks if you want a change of scenery. We have stayed at many properties over the years and this is certainly one of the best. The owners have gone above & beyond to think of every detail for their guests. We highly recommend and we will definitely be back!

24 August 2023


5* Just back from a fabulous long weekend at The Gatehouse, what an amazing find! Beautiful house in a perfect location, with the beach right on the doorstep. Louise was a perfect host, very attentive and extremely helpful. Travel instructions were easy to follow and check in was seamless. The house is pristine , great showers and the beds are so comfortable. Even our pooch was spoilt with a Welcome basket of treats , super soft blankets and towels. Look forward to returning sometime soon, thanks for having us good luck with the rest of the Summer!

14 August 2023


5* The place is beautiful and immaculately presented. Very private, given the gated entrance. Literally yards from the beach, which you can clearly view from the upper lounge. Great host, very helpful, understanding and quick to respond by text. Very expensive in my experience but worth it - one of the best holiday lets I've ever stayed at.

07 August 2023


5* The Gatehouse was amazing - internally spotlessly clean with everything being high end - kitchens and bathrooms. The view to the sea was great to wake up to and see every morning, mind you it was only 49 steps away!!! Great base with secure parking for a lovely stay exploring Mudeford and the south coast.

28 July 2023


5* After initially booking with Bournecoast, I was referred to the property owner Louise, who answered all my queries directly and very efficiently. The Gatehouse is a stunning property, thirty seconds from Avon beach. Spacious and spotless the house has all you need, with a sweet little garden for leisurely breakfasts which we enjoyed. Maida at the concierge service ‘Beespoke’ was very helpful and offered a wonderful food shopping service, which was all put away in the kitchen on our arrival - one less thing to think about! The Noisy Lobster restaurant is a favourite of ours and we enjoyed a lovely dinner there, as we always do when visiting Mudeford. Booking essential during peak season and it’s only a few minutes walk from the property. I loved our stay at this beautiful house and wouldn’t hesitate in recommending it - we will definitely be back!

17 July 2023


We had a lovely holiday in this beautiful well-appointed home. It was just a 2 minute walk to the beach - dog friendly to one side and no dogs allowed on the other side. there are a number of dog-friendly pubs nearby - The Nelson Tavern (lovely Sunday roast dinner), Haven House Inn (just a stroll along the beach front past all the people crabbing) and The Sandpiper (very busy with a wide menu). The house really suited our 3 generation family, very clean and spacious and homely without being cluttered.

01 July 2023


5/5 - Excellent Stay. Superb property excellent location minute walk to the beach very well equipped superb kitchen and luxury bathrooms with all the amenities provided by the Host. A very welcomed bottle of wine and biscuits on Arrival, we will definitely be back.

06 June 2023


5* We had the most incredible week in Mudeford. The house is beautiful, the host is so kind and helpful, the location is fabulous. At the end of our stay we booked straight away for the same week next year.

01 June 2023


The booking was initially managed by the agents but was great to get direct communication with the owner nearer the time and Louise was perfect to deal with. The house itself is in an amazing position with a fabulous view to Avon beach and inside the attention to detail is fantastic with everything thought of in terms of what you could need. A great, well-equiped kitchen for people who like to cook (we do), great tech with the huge TV's (although maybe a Sonos or equivilent would make a great addition?) and really comfy beds in all rooms. The location is excellent although we used to live a stones throw from this house so we already knew it would be perfect and the handy Beryl bike station on the beach means you can get around easily without a car....we aim to be back next year!

28 May 2023


I had the most amazing time in this beautiful house, I didn’t want to leave! Everything about my stay is memorable. The lovely concierge, a special team of lovely people work hard to make sure every need is catered for and it was very much appreciated. I am looking forward to my next stay.

22 May 2023


Thank you and your team for your attention to detail to ensure our 5 days in Mudeford went through without a hitch. We loved the property. Cleaned to a high standard and a lot of little thoughtful extras about the place. The 3 social rooms above each other works really well and did for our group. The property's location is fab, less than 50m to the main beach. We will be looking to return for sure as long as you’re not fully booked as we think others will think the same as us!

09 May 2023


Beautiful week at The Gatehouse, wonderful accommodation & views from the 'round lounge' highly recommended.

21 April 2023


We have just returned from a fabulous stay at the gatehouse. It really is a truly beautiful property and the location was perfect. We are a family of 5 with 3 young children and we all thought it was great. Super clean and spacious. We will definitely be returning. Highly recommend.

07 April 2023


5* - Everything was perfect at The Gatehouse. Wouldn’t change a thing about our stay there.

07 April 2023


We had a wonderful stay at the Gatehouse where all our needs were met by Louise and Philip and there support team led by Maida. The property is in a fantastic location with beach just steps away from the front door. The accommodation is extremely comfortable with everything you need for a short or longer stay providing plenty of room for relaxing. The concierge service is a great addition to the service offering. Nothing was too much trouble, we had some visitors during our stay who brought their dog. We asked if this would be OK beforehand and were told it was absolutely fine and we were even provided with some treats and blankets for the dog! We really could not fault the Gatehouse and will be back in the future. Location, Facilities and Service - FANTASTIC !!! Thanks also for your assistance in booking the property.

03 April 2023


5* - The gatehouse is in a perfect location almost on the beach at Avon Beach. It’s a lovely place to stay! Great local amenities including fresh fish from mudeford quay and coffee and pastries from the coffee shack.

08 March 2023


5/5 - Very Comfortable Haven. Great location - right on beach and easy walking to Christchurch Harbor. Safe and secure behind gate and very quiet, despite being on road to beach parking. Inside, all appliances, bath, shower, etc. are new and work well. Full kitchen is a bonus with most everything necessary to cook a meal available if you look around. Nice linens and towels and plenty of room to spread out. Bath salts and biscuits were a nice touch. I highly recommend the Gatehouse and would gladly return.

27 February 2023


We have had the most wonderful stay at this beautiful beach side accommodation. Absolutely spotless clean. High end appliances. Beautiful space. They have thought of everything you might need. We met some of the team that were preparing the accommodation who were absolutely lovey, very friendly and welcoming. The agents are very attentive, checking in with us during the stay to make sure everything was as expected I can not recommend this place highly enough. Just wonderful!!

19 February 2023


Superb accommodation only a stone’s throw from Avon Beach. Very well equipped. Nicely furnished throughout and very comfortable. The number of power sockets was a little limited and a desk equipped with power sockets is a suggestion for individuals wanting to use a laptop during their stay. All in all, a fantastic property in a wonderful location, with secure, off-road parking. We look forwards to our next stay! RESPONSE: Thank you so much for your feedback, the Landlord has now installed a work station with extra sockets for guests to use. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

15 February 2023


5* Richard AshtonJuly 2023 The Gatehouse was amazing - internally spotlessly clean with everything being high end - kitchens and bathrooms. The view to the sea was great to wake up to and see every morning, mind you it was only 49 steps away!!! Great base with secure parking for a lovely stay exploring Mudeford and the south coast.

01 January 2001

location

useful information

join our mailing list